Privacy, the GDPR and blog readers

GDPRThe European Union (EU) effected the General Data Protection Regulations (GDPR) on 25 May 2018. This has introduced much confusion among the blogging community as the internet’s borders are porous and our posts may be read world-wide, including in the EU.

Although this blog has been dormant for some time, I’m reluctant to take it offline and make it private as I’ve done with another blog of mine.

The GDPR requires us to ensure our readers have the following information:

  1. What we do with their names, emails and IP addresses if they comment or subscribe.
  2. Give them the option to unsubscribe if they choose to do so at any point.
  3. Give them an option to have their personal data removed from the blog by contacting the author.
  4. Let them know that cookies will track them if they give permission – and give them the ability to opt out.
  5. Clearly state which programs we’re using.

The actions I’ve taken:

  1. I’ve introduced a Privacy Policy page on each of my blogs (should have done this long ago). In this I’ve explained what programs I use and what my approach is.
  2. Set up a cookies warning bar which means the reader can accept or reject cookies. Once accepted the reader will not need to choose again for a further 180 days.
  3. Readers who’ve subscribed to blog posts can choose to unsubscribe or contact me to remove their personal data. Readers from the EU will be required to give privacy approval before they comment. (EU readers – please let me know if this doesn’t happen)
  4. Be assured I will not share your email with anyone without your permission and only then if it’s relevant to your research comments.

If you have any further questions or concerns about privacy issues in relation to your personal data on my blog, please contact me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.