Kathmandu Doorways

Inspired by last week’s post on Doorways of Travel I thought I’d add some of my old photos from a trip to Kathmandu in 1977.

Kathmandu monks 1977 edit

This one has always amused me – what were they looking at?

Kathmandu butchers edit

I can’t say I’d be enthused to use this butcher shop. Goat anyone?

Many feature doorways for the simple reason that the workspaces are so tiny and people work squashed up at all sorts of skills. Our children, then aged six and four, were with us on the trip so they had some amazing experiences. We were staying with friends and former work colleagues so we were fortunate to have our own built-in tour guides.Kathmandu sari beading copy

Silver or tin smiths working on jewellery etc.

Silver or tin smiths working on jewellery etc.

Some sort of celebration or religious event -I wouldn't take a photo like this these days.

Some sort of celebration or religious event -I wouldn’t take a photo like this these days.

This image always makes me feel depressed even though street vendors are common throughout Asia.

This image always makes me feel depressed even though street vendors are common throughout Asia.

It’s a shame these photos are so colour-damaged but that’s one of the hazards of tropical living.

3 thoughts on “Kathmandu Doorways

    • Thanks Liz, they’ve been scanned for some time and these are the scanned images. unfortunately I think that particular film wasn’t great to start with and has deteriorated more than any other even though they’ve all been in the tropics for close to 40 years.

  1. Pingback: Sepia Saturday (or Tuesday): Kathmandu tales | Family history across the seas

Leave a Reply

