Bird watching

Over the past few days I’ve happened across some birds just hanging around and got some photos. Inevitably I haven’t had the large telephoto lens when I wanted it, but that’s life.

The Spangled Drongo has beautiful dark blue/black feathers and a distinctively forked tail. Unfortunately his singing voice isn’t nearly as pretty, in fact I’d call it raucous. He was hunting bugs in the local playground.

I spotted this kingfisher on the neighbouring fence just as I drove out. I had to take his photo between the fence panels because of course as I got closer he took off.

Sadly when I saw the jabiru fishing in the tidal shallows the other week I didn’t have my camera at all as I was off to do the school pickup. I’ve never seen that before and wondered if it was the same one I’d seen a few weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

