Aerial Jabiru

It’s not all that common to see Jabiru in town and this is the first chance I’ve had to photograph one. My grandson and I were sitting on the beach at Fannie Bay enjoying the cooler weather and digging some sand castles when I spotted it overhead. They’re not perfect shots but I was happy to get them just the same. The Jabiru is Australia’s only stork and has an iridescent blue/black head. You can see an earlier photo I took at Fogg Dam wetlands here.

Ironically on our way to an Open Garden today we saw one in a waterhole near Jabiru. I did my best to sneak up on it, camera in hand, but it was too quick and up, up and away!

3 thoughts on “Aerial Jabiru

  1. Pingback: Bird watching | Tropical Territory

Leave a Reply

