Kalymnos, Darwin and a little church

The little chapel/church in a paddock beside the Kalymnos Club in Darwin.

I’ve lost the faith a little bit with this blog in recent weeks, plus I’ve been snowed under with my A to Z posts on Family History Across the Seas.

I took this photo a few weeks ago. It’s of a little Greek Orthodox-style chapel adjoining the Kalymnos Club in McMillans Road. There’s a very large Greek population in Darwin, mostly originating from the island of Kalymnos so there’s strong cultural and religious practices.

Admittedly I’m not confident about this story, but I’m told that the little chapel had been meant to be a place of worship but there was some mix-up with laying the altar stone. Now, this may all be a furphy so I’m happy for anyone who knows more about it, to jump in and comment on this post.

Whatever the story behind the chapel, I just think it’s really cute and presently looking very flash with a new coat of paint.

5 thoughts on “Kalymnos, Darwin and a little church

  1. Hi there, my name is Tan from Darwin, and I am interesting in this building. Do you have any more info on this? I doing a research on it. Thank you.

    • hi Tan, No I’m sorry I have no further information. I’d suggest you get in touch with the Kalymnos society (name??) next door to the church. Someone there should be able to help. Pauleen

      • Thank you for the reply, I will give a visit tomorrow and see what they can tell me about it. Cheers.

  2. Hi Pauleen, so this church was built around 1990 – 95. It was never been blessed to be a church. So, no foundation stone was laid or name given. Locals mentioned that it was built to celebrate patron saint of Kalmynos, Saint Savvas. The area was once used for “Tent City” in 1999. Cheers. Tan.

Leave a Reply

