Plovers: Good parents or evil bombers?

I took this image yesterday on the waterfront at Fannie Bay. My daughter calls these birds evil because of their inclination to attack passers-by willy-nilly. It is pretty disconcerting to be bombed by them, but as one of my indigenous colleagues said “they’re great parents” and heaven help anyone who comes close to their chicks. Yesterday they were in foraging mode and while they kept their beady eyes on me, they were happy enough to leave me alone.

Leave a Reply

